Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

Opinions and knowledge about reeds and MPCs

I am new to woodwinds, especially sax. I plan to practice clarinet before getting into sax. For sax, I am starting up (against the advice of most) On a 1915 Conn C-Melody, after getting it repaired and set up professionally.

That said, I am a little confused about MPCs and reeds. The Conn is coming with a vintage MPC in unknown condition. I have seen a few vintage hard rubber MPCs on eBay, and a few newly made by Aquilasax, Babbit and FAXX. Any opinions on these pieces? Also, besides c mel reeds, what reeds work best?

Also, I've noticed some players prefere a Tenor or other MPC, over a C mell piece. Can you tell me what you like, and why?

TIA

581569022_o.jpg

581568964_o.jpg

Last edited:
I have the same vintage C Mel. You'll find that mpc pretty much unplayable by today's standards: very closed tip, huge chamber, giving a muted, tubby tone. It is possible to open the tip and bring up the baffle, but I didn't bother. I have decent luck with modern alto mpcs, but the problem is that you have to pull them almost all the way off the cork to get in tune. I tried tenor mpcs, but I did not find them very satisfactory. The bore of that C-Mel is actually thinner than an alto bore, so I found alto mpcs the best bet. You could order a custom C Mel mpc if you--I think Ed Pillinger makes one. If you stay with the original mpc you will need a very hard reed. You could cut a tenor reed down to size to fit it.

Toby

I have a straight-neck Conn C mel. Many players, myself included, use the Runyon C mel mouthpieces, which are available in a variety of tip openings. For reeds, these are set up so that you can play tenor reeds on them.

These Runyons are great, because they are true C mel pieces, and won't distort the C mel sound like an alto or tenor piece will. A true C mel sound comes out of my old Conn, and the tuning is fine with it as well.