Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

Changing a Typewriter keywork

Hello,

I'm Abraham from Spain, I'm a pro sax jazz player and also I'm repair saxes for living.

I'm new here and I'd like to ask to the experts if there is a Martin model ( pre or post 1930) which keywork is interchangeable with my tenor Martin typewriter. At the end is a handcraft, right?

I own three mark vi (94k, 99k and 184k) but these days I always prefer play on my old Martin, I love the SOUND. The only problem is that the keywork don't help me very much at fast runs.

Can you give me ideas? Thanks.

Hello there. Welcome to the WF.

Let me say straight up that I am not a repair tech, so I have no idea about which--if any--Martins would have keywork that is interchangeable with your Typewriter.

However, as a Handcraft Phase 2 (68XXX) tenor owner, I now exactly what you mean about your horn's sound. I have a number of other tenors, including a Mark VI, Hohner President, JK Toneking, Zephyr (my main tenor), but the Martin has a sound that is very special. I would love to use it everyday, but the keys kill me. (Especially the left pinkie cluster.)

I have 2 thoughts about your dilemma:
  • You could buy another Martin from a similar era, but without the Typewriter keywork. As a tech you could take a Phase 2 or even 3 horn and set it up ideally for yourself. I suspect you will find the tone is very similar. I'm not sure when exactly the company changed the design, but I know that my friend's Committee III tenor--although sounding really good--does not have quite the same depth and complexity of tone that my Handcraft has. I'm guessing the bore design changed. Not sure when though. Perhaps the owner of themartinstory.net knows.

The reason I suggest buying another horn is because the typewriter models are simply not as common, and it would be a shame to alter one forever, if another sax will give you the results you want.