Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

Help Identify a 1936 Buffet contra clarinet

I have a 1936 contra clarinet. I was an instrument repair tech for 25 years and I have owned this clarinet for years. I may want to do something with it, but I can't identify the model. I am wondering if anyone can help me. T
IMG_2337.jpg
IMG_2331.jpg
IMG_2330.jpg
IMG_2337.jpg
IMG_2331.jpg
IMG_2330.jpg
IMG_2337.jpg
hanks in advance for your help.

Attachments

• IMG_2334.pdf
    5.5 MB · Views: 258
Are you sure this is a 1936 horn? I've never seen an Eb alto with a top crook (it's in the PDF) like that. It looks like someone looked at a baritone sax and said, "It'd be cool if I could make a clarinet that looks like that."

It has the normal intonation standard of low pitch A=440/442hz, not high pitch A=457hz, right? Can you take a better shot of the engraving on the bell?

I'm gonna look into this one a bit more.

Last edited:
Thanks for your help. I have tried emailing Buffet in France, but I have never received reply.

There is no indication of low or high pitch, so I assume it is standard pitch.
No, I am not sure that it is a 1936 instrument, but the Buffet page indicates that their 1936 clarinets begin at 18,000 and their 1937 clarinets at 20,000. I have posted 3 photos of the bell engraving and two photos of the crooks and register keys. With the thumb lever depressed, the top register key is raised by the RH ring finger 'D' key and also by the LH 'throat A'.

FYI, I have the original wood case and the compartments form fit to the parts. I have all parts but the mouthpiece

Again, thanks for your advice. I really appreciate it!

Attachments

• register2.jpeg
    register2.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 342
  • Bell-3.jpeg
    Bell-3.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 270
  • register.jpeg
    register.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 319
  • Bell-1-3.jpeg
    Bell-1-3.jpeg
    1.6 MB · Views: 351
  • Bell-2.jpeg
    Bell-2.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 280