Help me replace my mouthpiece

Long story short - I played Bb clarinet in HS. Fast forward 30 years - my son started playing clarinet. When he returned his rental clarinet, he also returned my favorite mouthpiece with it.

Now, I haven't played an hour in 10 years. However, I am feeling a sentimental loss - I want to replace the mouthpiece (all my spares are just terrible.) This is probably a waste of money. But the clarinet was my dad's. It's a LeBlanc Normandy which I think is a beginner model. But in 1945 (or so) they were all made of ebony or grenadilla. Even though I bought the mouthpiece, I feel that my father's clarinet is incomplete. I suppose I am missing him. But that's all too depressing. :emoji_rolling_eyes: Let's move on! :emoji_relaxed:

At one time I was a decent beginner. My instructor sent me out to get a mouthpiece and told me what to buy. I thought it was a Vandoren B75. I sent an email to Vandoren asking about it, however, and they say they never had a B75 model. It's been 30 years - I don't remember the brand.

So my question to all of you - Do you remember a mouthpiece model manufactured 30-ish years ago, labeled B73 or B75, for Bb clarinet? I expect it would have been appropriate for the 'serious enthusiast.'

I am sure it wasn't a Selmer, LeBlanc, Yamaha, Conn, Bundy, or LaVoz. It was sold in a typical music store, not super-special mail order (no innerwebs in those days!)

Any help?

How about B45?

In some schools it is the default mouthpiece band directors recommend.

Welcome Tony. Vandoren lists a B75 here. But it is a rather expensive baritone piece. There are so many good mouthpieces out there *especially* for the beginner to intermediate-level clarinetist. I'd suggest you hike over to a local music store and see if they will let you give a couple pieces a blow. I actually tried a number of tenor sax mouthpieces that way about three years ago at a Mills Music store. :cool: