Its all new to me.

(as posted in the welcome section,but to recap).

Ive just reached a point in my life that I can commit to fulfilling a lifelong ambition which is learning to play the Saxophone.
I last played an instrument 30+ years ago when I learned to play the cornet in primary school.

I only hope I have some sleeping memory's of what I learned.
i know its going to be a steep learning curve but its something Ive wanted to do all my life.
Ive found a local Sax teacher that is willing to take me on so all thats left to do is to decide between Alto and Tennor? and of course sell that unused motorcycle that will release the funds for my purchase.

I have very little knowledge of both how to read music and Saxophones so as previously stated, im open to and welcome suggestions for all topics regarding learning music and indeed which Sax and why ?

and if I can ask, apart from the sound what are the differences between the Alto and Tennor? as its been suggested the Tennor would be easier to learn, why is this?

Rgds Lee.

as its been suggested the Tennor would be easier to learn, why is this?

I haven't heard of that. I don't think there's much difference in regard to ease of learning, especially for an adult. (Alto may be easier for small children due to its size and weight).

I think the best thing is to listen to alto and tenor players of different genres, see what "grabs" you.

Listen to as many as possible from across the board, and not just the usual jazz suspects (Parker, Coltrane, Rollins etc.)

Thanks Pete, TBH over the years I've preferred the deeper sound of the Tennor however now the ambition has gone from just that to reality I've been paying a lot more attention and am watching and listening to video clips (YouTube ect-) almost on a daily basis and now find myself drawn in the middle between the two.