Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

New 'medium soft' Bari synthetic reed too hard?

Hello, I have recently purchased a bari medium soft synthetic clarinet reed to try, as it's a relatively new thing. But when it came to my mail yesterday, i found it very hard to make good tones. I wanted a softer reed to play lower notes, but the reed seems to be too hard.
Now, when i got reeds before(cane reeds), i got the strength '3' ones, and it worked fine. But the 'medium soft' was quite hard for me. I am an intermediate beginner, so is 'medium soft' too hard?
thanks for any help!!!

P.S i thought medium soft is about 2.5-3.0, am I right? If i am right, how come it's very hard to play on?:frown:
i play on Bb clarinet.

I generally play Medium to medium hard reeds, but use soft whenever I use a bari.

(Psst! Carl! Bari is a reed company.)

You also have to note that reed strengths are not identical across all manufacturers. A Rico 2.5 can be Vandoren's 2. LaVoz's medium could be Mitchell Lurie's 3. Etc.

"Softer" doesn't always mean "easier to play." It's not going to hurt if you get back to the new synthetic you bought in a few days and try it again. Give it some time. If you still think it's too hard, buy a softer strength next time. Or ask your instructor, first.

You should also define a bit more what you mean by "make good tone(s)." Additionally, why'd you switch from cane, anyway?

(hey broccoli head, I know that, and play MH on baritone sax too :geezer2: )