Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

Are horizontal angled necks available for Vito Bass Clarinets or will a tech have to bend it?

I'm new to Bass Clarinet but am a long time sax player. My main horn is tenor although I play alto with equal facility. I would prefer a more tenor-like neck entry and have actually seen some on YouTube videos, so I wonder about the chances of finding a used one to fit my Vito Resotone BC. Actually the neck with it is not that extremely angled upward but the horn is uncomfortable for me due to my short stature and the design of the Vito. Basically it has the ergonomics of a Stanley Steamer, which make playing it at 5'6' with large hands very uncomfortable. Regardless of sitting high or low (extending or shortening the peg as needed)'when I have the upward angled mouthpiece in my chops, my right hand is basically on my right thigh and has to bend down and inward to get into playing position, something which is quite uncomfortable and actually painful after a short time

To modify the clarinet to my ergonomic needs I had to remove the tiny crappy thumb hook that came with the Vito and replace it with a Ton Kooiman one that is adjustable in two ways. I placed the plate that holds it lower than the stock one so my right hand would clear and not brush all those keys right above there on the back of the body tube. In fact, I have to do that also so my right pinky can reach the E, F, and Eb keys comfortably. That often happens because my right thigh keeps my hand higher than where it needs to be lower down between my thighs. As a result my hand has to bend down unnaturally, something that is uncomfortable. If I had a neck that was horizontal like a tenor sax neck the entire body tube of the clarinet would be up higher on its foot peg thus allowing my right hand to likewise be higher up and free to move because it would not be down pressed against my big thigh.