Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

Bb Clarinet Upper Register squeaking problem

Hi all,

Been playing my buffet clarinet for a very long time. In the last couple of years, I've had issues with the upper register, E, F, above high C. I'm squeaking in those upper register notes more often than not. I had this issue 2 years ago and my clarinet had seal leaks, all pads were replaced, an overhaul. I feel like that took care of the issue, but the squeaks are back. I brought it back and he ran tests and said there are no leaks. I have subsequently tried a different mouthpiece, different reed types (legere plastic and cane), reed strengths, I'm still squeaking. I am beyond frustrated and don't know where to go from here.

I've been playing for more than 30 years.

Thank you!
Beatles111

In theory, a note on clarinet is a controlled squeak.....
To point:
try this: put a bit more bottom lip in, and give it a go...
I myself did go through a period of upper register squeaking and discovered that in my effort to keep a flat-chin I was pulling most of my bottom lip out, thus there was very little lip in-there to pad the reed....so I was getting the overtones (high E went up to the higher A).
I was over-thinking my embouchure....

Let us know if it works.

In theory, a note on clarinet is a controlled squeak.....
To point:
try this: put a bit more bottom lip in, and give it a go...
I myself did go through a period of upper register squeaking and discovered that in my effort to keep a flat-chin I was pulling most of my bottom lip out, thus there was very little lip in-there to pad the reed....so I was getting the overtones (high E went up to the higher A).
I was over-thinking my embouchure....

Let us know if it works.