ChatGPT / Artificial Intelligence

pete

Brassica Oleracea
Staff member
Administrator
Just opening up the topic to the group, as our staff was discussing an apparent AI that posted here.

My real life job is, "Cybersecurity Analyst." That means I work with viruses and other fun malware and the havok they cause. Before that, I was a computer tech. That generally meant working with broken hardware or software. I have limited experience coding. I could probably fool someone into thinking that I have HTML or Javascript skills. I did have some BASIC coding chops ... about 40 years ago.

There's a maxim that says that ANY repetitive computer task can be programmed. When ChatGPT was publicly available, a few months back, I checked out ChatGPT to see if it really could either help me with some of my repetitive tasks. It has literally blown me away:

"Chat, I'm going to give you a bunch of URLs. I want you to strip 'http://' and 'https://' from each, then add this tiny bit of known-good code. Here's an example of what I'd like the output to look like: [example]."

"No problem. Here's your output."

I've also had some great success at having ChatGPT spit out some Python code to work with an API (application programming interface) for a website to work at checking malware samples automagically. The only thing that limits me is that I need to be able to describe properly what I want. That sometimes takes a few attempts.

ChatGPT and other AIs are not perfect. I've had a few instances where ChatGPT has spat out some code that just doesn't work and it's bad enough that I can see why it doesn't work. That can also be educational, though.

So, anyone else using ChatGPT or another AI? Anyone else try the new ChatGPT-fortified Bing search engine?