Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

Windows 10 and Misc. Stuff

pete

Brassica Oleracea
Staff member
Administrator
I wanted to mention a bit about Windows 10 before I go back into hibernation (I'm studying for another computer certification and I'm supposed to be updating my website, but I'm taking a small break).

First, Windows 10 is a free update for anyone who currently has a copy of Windows 7 or 8.x -- or, more specifically, if you have a license key for either. You can download Windows 10 anytime you want. Here's the official link. Or you can wait for the update, if you've signed up. However ... I recommend you don't install Windows 10, yet.

The one persistent problem I've had throughout all the Windows 10 Technical Previews ("betas") and the full release version is that, randomly, things will delete themselves from or "hide" themselves from my desktop. If they're "hidden," I just need to choose a different Theme and *poof* they return, then I can go back to whatever theme I had. When the files delete themselves, they're really deleted. Hey, I even had one of the Technical Previews automatically uninstall Office 365. That wasn't nice, but it shows a precedent for deleting stuff.

There's another known issue that causes your computer to just reboot over and over. I have Windows 10 Pro on three machines and Windows 10 Enterprise Trial on two more. I haven't experienced this problem, but I might just be lucky. Or Microsoft is satisfied in just deleting stuff off my Desktop. Or it could be that I completely wiped my hard drives and installed Windows 10 from scratch.

I've also been playing with Windows 10 on an older Asus Zenbook. Microsoft tries to install an update to the Touchpad which makes it not work. Unfortunately, Microsoft updates are now mandatory, so I can't stop it from updating. However, it does appear that this particular update has been removed and my Touchpad works again.