Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

Some help with C-Melody repair please?

Hello. I am new to woodwinds, but have always wanted to play the sax, and the C-Melody sax has recently facinated me. I have just won two auctions on eBay for fixer Conn and Conn stencil C-Mels:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/221048198085?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

and a Bruno Royal Artist

http://www.ebay.com/itm/190691619598?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

The latter, I am thinking of repadding myself. It's cheap enough to do that without too much worry. Any resources for parts and info would be appreciated.

I am fairly handy at repairing guitars, but this will be my first attempt with woodwinds. I also have experience in fabricating and auto repair, so I probably have the skills to do it, with the proper equipment and information.

So far my best resource is http://musicmedic.com/info/articles.html

If you have other resources, I would love your input and advice

TIA

Capture-4.jpg

Last edited:
You can also do a Google for Allied Music Supply.

General notes on sax repair:
* You will put a needle spring through a finger. Make sure your tetanus shots are up to date.
* If you're going to hand polish your horn, make sure you use a non-abrasive, non-tarnishing polish designed for the appropriate plating (your C melody looks like silver plate) and be extremely gentle. Note that you've got gold wash in the bell. Don't use silver polish on that.

You'll have other actual repair folks comment on the rest. Do note that just a repad isn't going to fix the horn. You have to make sure that the pads seal properly, you've got the corks and felts in the right places and you want to make sure that all the keys work and don't have excessive play.

==============